HomeCity Government NewsCounty Certifies City Council Election Results

County Certifies City Council Election Results

First published in the Dec. 10 print issue of the Burbank Leader.

The Los Angeles County Clerk Dean Logan this week certified the results for the 2022 general election, solidifying the victories of councilwomen-elect Nikki Perez with 24.74% of votes, Tamala Takahashi with 21.84% and Zizette Mullins with 19.75%.
The three members will be sworn in on Dec. 19, and will take the dais for their first meeting on Jan. 3.
About 52.23% of Burbank registered voters cast ballots, totaling 36,443 votes in the general election.
Perez is nonprofit manager for New Economics for Women and has experience as a communications director for the California State Assembly. During her campaign, she prioritized getting ahead of homelessness and housing issues, making sure people know Burbank is open for business, and improving transportation by strengthening regional partnerships with other municipalities.
Takahashi, an environmental advocate and mental health professional, has championed sustainable transportation, increasing access to homelessness resources, bolstering small and micro businesses, and prioritizing biking.
During her campaign, Mullins, the current Burbank city clerk, spoke about helping small businesses meet staffing needs, matching homeless individuals with the proper resources, and engaging and streamlining the city’s community outreach.
Incumbent Sharon Springer, who has served on the council since May 2017, holding positions of mayor and vice mayor during her terms, was edged out of the race by about 500 votes. During her time on council, Springer supported affordable housing, homelessness services, economic development initiatives, transportation and sustainability.
Candidate Carmenita Helligar, an advocate for community engagement and inclusivity, did not receive the votes needed to take a seat on the panel, despite garnering a large and supportive following from volunteers and city leaders.
Kimberly Clark will take the mantle as the new city clerk, winning her election over Viviana Garzon and Jamal El-Amin by nearly 20%.
Krystle Palmer, current Burbank city treasurer, ran unopposed and will continue for another term.
Incumbent School Board Vice President Char Tabet and board member-elect Amy Pontzer-Kamkar were chosen by voters as members of the Burbank Unified School District School Board.
A total of 2,456,701 ballots were processed and counted in L.A. County, with 43.65% of eligible voters casting ballots. For specific election results, visit lavote.gov.
On Tuesday, Dec. 6, the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors declared the election officially concluded.
The official election canvass began on Nov. 9. During the canvass period, all outstanding ballots were reviewed and tallied once verified.

Most Popular

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=3]