HomeBlocksFront-GridBurroughs, Burbank Earn Postseason Honors

Burroughs, Burbank Earn Postseason Honors

First published in the June 11 print issue of the Burbank Leader.

It was a remarkable spring sports season for Burroughs and Burbank high schools, highlighted by JBHS’ first baseball and girls’ swimming CIF championships in the school’s 74-year history, another Pacific League title for Burroughs boys’ volleyball, and a pair of Bulldogs battling for a boys’ tennis individual singles CIF title.

JBHS recently completed an historic baseball season that saw the Bears not only win a CIF-SS Division V title but also advance to the second round of the Southern California regional state playoffs where they were eventually eliminated in the semifinal round. Those achievements made Burroughs head coach Matt Magallon an easy choice for co-coach of the year, while junior Nick Forrest was named the co-player of the year. Several Bears ball players were also selected for All-Pacific League honors, including senior Mason Medina, senior Gunnar Nichols and junior Sebastian Zamora, who each made first-team all-league. Meanwhile, senior Bailey Ewan and sophomore Nate Chapman each earned second-team honors and senior Andrew Chapman received an honorable mention.
The Bulldogs had a fine season in their own right, finishing third in the league standings and securing a wildcard postseason berth. Junior Daniel Neria earned first-team all-league honors, senior Josh DiPietro, junior Jose Avellaneda and junior Wyatt Lamarsna were each selected to the second team while junior Jared Cantu received an honorable mention.

The Burroughs girls’ swim team captured its first CIF title in program history. The 200-yard freestyle relay team of Nancy Baylor, Camilla Guillermo, Abigail Chatalyan and Lilliana Noriega earned first-team honors, while Chatalyan added a first-team selection in the 500-yard freestyle. Baylor and Chatalyan each earned second-team selections in the 200-yard free and 100-yard butterfly, respectively.

Burbank junior Adam Ridaoui earned All-Pacific League singles honors.

Burbank junior Adam Ridaoui and freshman Amrith Kodumuri, the former of whom won the CIF individual tournament title, each earned All-Pacific League singles honors, while the doubles team of Yash Desai and James Basco also captured all-league honors. Meanwhile, JBHS head coach Roy Barnhardt was named Coach of the Year.

Burroughs senior captain Kelsey Acosta and junior Stevie Dabbadie each were All-Pacific League first-team selections. Meanwhile, JBHS junior Rachel Little and sophomore Gizelle Rangsiyawong collected second-team honors and senior Gigi Garcia was honorable mention
Burbank freshman Maddison Kellogg collected first-team all-league honors, junior Samantha Buckley made second-team and sophomore Belinda Lujano was honorable mention.

JBHS senior Christian Solano (left) and junior Mark Hopkins claimed All-Pacific League first- and second-team honors.

JBHS head coach Joel Brinton was named the Coach of the Year after leading the Bears to their 12th consecutive Pacific League title, and seniors Chris Johnson and Justin Burras were each named co-players of the year.
Seniors Vinny Harris, Jeremy Lapeze and Christian Solano each collected first-team honors, while senior Khalib “Pucky” Lawrence and junior Mark Hopkins each earned second-team selections. Senior Kyle Truett was honorable mention.
Meanwhile for the Bulldogs, Ryan Viyar made the second team and Ian Villaflor earned honorable mention.

Burbank Jack Sapyta earned first-team honors in the 200 and 400 meters and James Kwon was a first-team selection in the 300-meter hurdles. In the field events, Jacob Fabian, Joshua Michael Jimenez and Ogden Lucsik tallied first-team selections in the shot put, discus and pole vault, respectively.
The Burbank 4×100 meter relay team of Vinnie de Salvi, Sebastian Ottosson, Koji Nakazawa and Sapyta made the second team and Quint Bastian made the second in the 110-meter hurdles. Field athletes Kai Sebastian, Jimenez and Lucsik earned second-team selections in the high jump, shot put and pole vault, respectively.
Burroughs’ Dilan Webster was the lone first-team honoree in the long jump, while Frank Beckett and Jayden Menchaca each earned second-team selections in the 300-meter hurdles and triple jump, respectively.

A pair of Burbank athletes captured All-Pacific League first-team honors — Emma Cusumano in the high jump and Katherine Bui in the shot put. Meanwhile, Amelie Guyot and Cusumano earned second-team selections in the 3,200-meter run and long jump, respectively.
JBHS’ Otelia Lighthill and Lily Castiel posted second-team honors in discus and pole vault, respectively.

The Bears’ lone swimming second-team honoree was Ryan Lee in the 200-yard freestyle and 100-yard butterfly.

Most Popular

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=3]